Banana Walnut Steel Cut Oatmeal

Are you looking for a breakfast to get you through till lunch time?  Then you’ll go bananas over this oatmeal.  I often make this if I know I have a day full of errands and I know I won’t be home until later in the afternoon.  I hate being on the road and hungry, it only leads to grabbing something to sabotage my day of healthy eating.  I love to save up the 20% of my “badness” for something I really want to eat or drink instead of something because I’m ravenous.  This is also a great breakfast for the days that I run or take one of my crazy workout classes and I need a strong, grounded energy that is sustainable for a longer period of time.  Steel cut oats do take a little longer to cook than regular oatmeal so I have to make sure I put in on the stove as soon as I come down to the kitchen to start making the kids lunches.

 Banana Walnut Steel Cut Oatmeal

4 cups of water

1 cup steel-cut oats

1 banana

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon raw honey

Prepare oats as directed.  Top with sliced banana, chopped nuts, sprinkle cinnamon and stir in the honey to enjoy!

Whats in it for you?

Steel Cut Oats:  Fiber, protein an iron

Walnuts: Brain health with Omega 3

Bananas: potassium, vitamin C, manganese

Cinnamon:  Live longer, regulate blood sugar

Raw honey: Energize with B vitamins and a little fiber

Go Faster, Stronger, Longer with this energizing and satisfying breakfast! – Andrea

Find out more about the Sprouting Souls Philosophy about wellness and how we can help you!

Leave a Reply

