Spaghetti Squash with Peas

I’ve always shied away from spaghetti squash.  Every time I see it in a recipe or referenced in an article it seems to be paired with a marinara sauce…I guess the two together just don’t appeal to me.  Anyway, they are abundant right now and I feel guilty every time I pass them up in favor of my favorite butternut variety.  Yes, guilty, like the spaghetti squash is screaming, “What did I ever do to you? It wouldn’t kill you to give me a try!”  So, I decided to buy it, cook it, and then figure out what to do with it.

It was actually easier to cook than a large butternut because I did not have to cut it in half first.  I just rinsed it off, poked it with holes, placed in a baking dish lined with foil, and put it in the oven at 375 degrees.  I checked it after an hour and it felt like it needed a bit longer so I left it in for another 15 minutes.  It was very tender and easy to slice in half. I then scooped out the long strands of squash, placed them in a bowl, separated them a bit with a fork, drizzled on some olive oil, salt and pepper, and took a bite. Quite good, not packed with flavor, but good.  I decided to steam some frozen peas and season with a lemon olive oil, a sprinkle of parmesan cheese, and sea salt.  I really like it!  So simple, yet filling and healthy.  Next time I’m going to try adding more veggies and feta or goat cheese!  Because it’s so easy to season with whatever makes you happy, it’s  a great dish for the kids to help with.  Let them add their own healthy toppings and you may have a new family favorite!

What’s so great about spaghetti squash?  It provides your body with folic acid, potassium, vitamin A, and beta carotene.  It’s also super low in calories, 42 per cup!!

Peace and greens,

Melissa

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash with Peas

  1. You can also microwave them if you are short on time. My mom used to microwave them and then have me scrape out the strands with a fork, which I enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

