Congratulations Athletes! You Inspire Me!

Do you ever take a moment to just sit back and take in the awe of the people you love?  This has been a weekend of that for me.  I am so amazed and inspired by my family and friends this past weekend I can’t get the smile off of my face.  People I have known for more than half of my life and people I have known for only a few years have given me such hope for what I inspire to do in my life.  I never would have imagined that we would be  this active and health conscious coming from the lifestyles that we did.  It’s pretty crazy, don’t you think my 2 a.m Taco Bell friends?

My friend and neighbor raced her way through a 1/2 Iron Man Marathon with a hip that wasn’t 100% and had the fastest time from our area, my best friend ran her first 5K, my brother-in-law ran his first 1/2 marathon (both through Detroit)and my husband did his fifth 1/2 Iron Man and came in 3rd place in his category.  I am so proud!!

The fastest growing group of tri-athletes are women with the largest rise in the 40 and older age group.  That is inspiring. There is a lot of hard work and perseverance that goes into training for a marathon.  You have to be dedicated to getting up and out and moving.  That is the first step, even if it is a baby step (in the case of the 1/2 marathon in February we are training for).

Beach to BattleShip is always a fun time and inspiring to see all different shapes, sizes, ages and genders pushing themselves to go beyond their limits to achieve a goal that brings instant gratification and the ability to feel and say “YES, I DID IT” from the bottom of their toes.  What a feeling!!!!!

Congratulations my inspirational athletes. I am SO proud of you! You are Sprouting Souls!!

-Andrea

Leave a Reply

