Super Immunity Stir-Fry

You know when your baby sleeps through the night for the first time for a few nights in a row, the excitement!  Then you make the mistake of saying it out loud,  “thank God, he’s finally sleeping through the night”, and then the next night the freaking baby wakes up at 2 a.m. for the next month.  Well, that’s why I am not going to talk about what super immunity cooking has done for my family.  But I think that you get the hint.  When I start to see the flu shot signs in all of the drug store windows I know it’s time to start with the super immunity recipes.  It’s like wrapping our cells with a warm fuzzy blanket to protect us through the fall and winter months.  I try to use super immunity combinations all year-long, but I like to double up on the frequency this time of year.

According to Joel Fuhrman, M.D., author of Super Immunity, the holy trinity of super foods for super immunity are onions, mushrooms and cruciferous vegetables.  I try to incorporate that combination of foods into meals 2-3 times a week.  The other night I made a super immunity stir-fry recipe that was super easy and quick.  Need to entice the kidos to eat their veggies?  Give them a set of chop sticks and let them have a little fun with it.

Super Immunity Stir-Fry

1 head cabbage / sliced into long shreds

1 cup bean sprouts

1 cup broccoli stems / trimmed and sliced lengthwise

1 yellow onion / sliced lengthwise

1 pkg sliced mushrooms

1 red bell pepper / seed and slice

3 cloves garlic / crushed

1 T ginger paste

2 T  sesame oil

2 T sesame seeds

Heat pan with sesame oil then add garlic and onion, saute 2-3 minutes.  Add mushrooms, cabbage, red bell pepper, broccoli stems and bean sprouts, allow to cook down slightly.  Add ginger paste and let cook together until the veggies are to your desired doneness……I know that’s not a word but my mind just drew a blank.  Cook them longer for a softer veggie, shorter for a crisper veggie but I know you already know that. Top with sesame seeds and serve with rice or noodles.  I went crazy the other day at the Grand Asian Market and bought about 8 packages of different types of noodles so I made my stir-fry with buckwheat noodles that time.  I also read some where that buckwheat noodles help with varicose veins.  So, I’ll be eating more of those too! 🙂

Stay healthy! -Andrea

One thought on “Super Immunity Stir-Fry

Leave a Reply

