Mushroom and Lentil Soup, Fast and Fabulous!

When the temperature dropped like a bomb overnight  I immediately started dreaming of homemade soup.  I had baby bella mushrooms about to go bad and a container of Trader Joes Lentils (precooked lentils from the refrigerator section of the grocery store).   I went running this morning in the crisp air and couldn’t wait to come home and prepare a yummy soup for lunch. (More on the running part later).  This soup was super fast to prepare thanks to the precooked lentils but turned out delicious, like I had slaved over the stove for hours:)

MUSHROOM LENTIL SOUP

2 celery stalks,  finely chopped

1 large carrot, finely chopped

1 onion, finely chopped

2 cups precooked lentils

2 to 3 cups button or baby bella mushrooms, roughly chopped

1 20 oz can diced tomatoes

4 cups vegetable stock

2 cups water

1/2 cup dry white wine

salt, pepper, and herbs to taste

Heat 2 T olive oil in large dutch oven or stock pot over medium heat, add celery, carrots, and onion.  Saute for 5 minutes and then add mushrooms, lentils,  and white wine and saute a few minutes more.  Add tomatoes, vegetable stock, water, salt and pepper.  I also added thyme, rosemary, and basil from an Herbs de Provence blend that I have.  You could add a 1/2 teaspoon of each of these herbs or choose your own favorites.  Reduce the heat to low, cover, and cook for 15 minutes or more. 

With a hunk of crusty bread this was the perfect lunch I had been conjuring up while run/walking this morning.  So about that…I guess I should fess up, I’m the friend Andrea spoke of in her post yesterday.  You know, the one that thought she and Robin had completely lost their minds when they announced their decision to run the Disney Princess Half-Marathon.  That’s 13.1 miles! Have they been drinking? I’m also the one who decided after about five minutes that it would be an absolute blast to join them!  I’ve never been a runner and this won’t be easy, but I love taking on a new challenge and I’ve been in the mood lately to push myself to a new level physically…I was thinking along the lines of a 13.1 hour Yogathon in Bali..but I digress.  I am super excited to be doing this with such a great group of girls and look forward to the many months of training ahead!  A special shout-out to Becky for joining in as well, I think her immediate revulsion of the idea rivaled my own!

Peace and Greens,

Melissa

Leave a Reply

