Run, Run, Robin – Team Sprouting Souls

Anyone that knows me knows that the reason I love Pilates and Yoga so much is because it is an exercise you can do laying down on a mat.  So many may be surprised at the fact that I have decided to run a half marathon (HALF marathon) so I consider myself only half crazy!  I have a friend that was ready to check something off of her bucket list and I told her that I would support her 110% if this is something she really wanted to do………she does.  Did I mention that I am not a big fan of Disney World either.  Did I mention that this is a Princess Half Marathon at Disney World?  LOL! I am so laughing at myself right now.  Well, after the big announcement a couple of weeks ago we have also recruited two other friends to join us.  After “you guys are crazy”, “I’m not a runner”, “I hate running” as so on, we have two other friends that said “Count me in!”  Yay!!

At 42, with a husband and 3 kids, I have found  it is a little more difficult to do something outside of the box and a little bit crazy without having any major repercussions.  But for me this is totally crazy.  Our plan is to start out slow (so we don’t hurt ourselves) and build up to a running or more like jogging pace that will last longer than 5 minutes without feeling like we are going to die.  That is our goal for next week anyway.  My personal longterm goal in this is to be able to do down dog and NOT see the texture issues I have on my thighs.  I figure if I can’t make that go away after 5 months of training and running a half marathon than it is NEVER going away and I am OK with that.  I guess I just want to see if it is possible.

If anyone has any running tips for a few novice runners, we would be glad to hear about them. ANYTHING at all will be helpful. We are currently running 3 days a week and today we ran for 1 minute and walked for 1.5 minutes for 2 miles.  I will still find my way to my mat.  I am going to need it more that ever!  Anyone else feel like doing something crazy?

Faster. Stronger. Longer.  Go Team Sprouting Souls!

Andrea

One thought on “Run, Run, Robin – Team Sprouting Souls

  1. Great post! It’s fun to do something crazy once in a while as long as you don’t get hurt. If I can do it you can do it easy. I am running my 1st half in Detroit on Oct 21 and I have never run over 10 miles in my life. I am no expert but running 3 min and walking 1 min is a great way to train.
    You can trick yourself into enjoying the race if you focus on being in the moment. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

