Brown Bag Lunch Idea for School or the Office

I have produce coming out of my ears, between the Farmers’ Markets and my CSA produce AND the produce I buy at the grocery store ( I know it’s a sickness) it is abundant.  I need to be creative to get it out of my fridge and into my kids before it goes bad.  Veggie wraps are a lunch that my kids love, I guess it has some kind of cool factor because it’s not on boring bread.  Smear a tortilla with hummus or cream cheese and top with thin slices of cucumber, tomato, bell peppers and spinach leaves and you have a great energizing lunch to get them  through the afternoon.  Add a cup of berries and veggie sticks to their lunch bag and they are good to go.  Tortillas are a great alternative to bread if you are trying to cut down on sugar.  Try to find a loaf of bread that doesn’t contain high fructose corn syrup or sugar in a conventional grocery store, nearly impossible!

Even if you aren’t a big fan of veggie wraps or whole grain tortillas your kids might be. Introduced  the nutrient dense stuff now and there may be less resistance than when they are older.  Think of it as giving them a gift that keeps on giving:  Life long healthy eating.

Remember this brown bag lunch idea isn’t just for the kidos, take it to the office.  You deserve a healthy, high energy lunch too!

Make it Matter. – Andrea

Leave a Reply

