Saving Fresh Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are one of my favorite springtime treats.  The kids loved picking the delicious berries in the picture, can you tell that a couple were picked by 7-year olds?  All good, but by the second day many were beginning to get mushy.  Luckily, we had eaten most of them by then!  Thanks to Produce Box member, Cynthia F., for sharing this tip on how to keep berries fresh.  I can’t wait to try it this weekend after I go pick some more!

Prepare a solution of 1/4 c white vinegar to 2  1/2 c water in a bowl.  Gently place berries in bowl, swirl around and let sit about a minute.  Remove berries, no further rinsing required.  Dry them a bit with a kitchen towel.  (Apparently, the vinegar kills the mold spores and keeps the berries fresh).

I like to pick LOTS of berries when in season so I can freeze some for smoothies.  I am always reading that you should freeze them in a single layer on a cookie sheet and then transfer them to freezer bags.  If not, you end up with a weapon-like, cantaloupe-size, ball of berries that are not easily separated.  (no need to ask me why I know so much about this 🙂  Problem is, I never have enough room in my freezer to easily add a cookie sheet.  For those of you who share this issue, try this; place the berries in a single layer in a freezer bag laying flat on the counter.  Carefully transfer the flat bag to the freezer. Worked like a charm for me!

Peace and berries,

Melissa

Leave a Reply

