Green Pear Spirulina Smoothie

I’m always trying to change up my morning smoothies with whatever I have on hand.  Yesterday I decided to try adding a pear and it was so good that I thought I’d share.

I also wanted to mention a good addition to smoothies, Spirulina.  I am not at ALL into supplements but after reading so much about Spirulina I decided it really does have a lot to offer.  You’ve probably heard how good sea vegetables are for us…seaweed, algae, nori, they are all from the superfood family of sea vegetables.  Well, Spirulina is a natural sea algae that you can buy in powdered form and add to smoothies without it changing the taste.  (It does make the smoothie more blue-green in color though)  I’ve been adding Spirulina to all my smoothies because it gives me Vitamin B12, something I don’t get on a vegetarian diet, as well as beneficial fatty acids, chlorophyll, protein, and many more vitamins and minerals.  Research has shown that Spirulina can be beneficial for people with type 2 diabetes, helps ward off heart disease and cancer, and acts as a detoxifier for the liver.  You can find Spirulina at any health food store.  I buy Pure Hawaiian Spirulina Pacifica from Whole Foods.  A 5 oz bottle is about $20 but it lasts quite a while. Be sure to store in the fridge after opening.

This smoothie is great with or without the sprulina!

Green Pear Spirulina Smoothie (serves 2)

1 ripe pear, any variety, peel on, chopped in half

1/2 c frozen pineapple

2 large handfuls spinach

2 T flax seeds

2 t spirulina

1 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/2 c water

ice

Blend and enjoy! 

melissa

One thought on “Green Pear Spirulina Smoothie

  1. Spirulina is a blue-green alga which is believed to be the first form of plant life on earth (nearly 3.5 billion years old). Since its rediscovery in the 1960’s, Spirulina has been exhaustively and extensively tested by scientists around the world. And has proved to be the most powerful and well-balanced source of nutrition on the planet.`

    Please do look out for our own internet page
    <'http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/tongue-cancer-pictures/

Leave a Reply

