Triple Wash Spinach

This week in my produce box I received 3 large bunches of fresh yummy, dirty spinach.  I loved it, it even came with a friend ( I washed the friend down the sink).  For me , touching freshly picked food is very grounding and I like the energy I get from it.  Peeling, picking, chopping, I love it all.  Before putting any type of green I have away in the fridge, I like to wash it first and put it in a large zip lock storage bag with a paper towel.  I am more likely to use it and it saves in prep time when preparing a meal, smoothie or snack.

Fill your sink with clean cold water.

Pick off leaves and discard stems.

Play with the spinach in the sink 🙂 Swish it around, submerge it a few times, you know have fun with it! (What if this is the only fun you get to have all day – go with it)

Take it out of the water and place in a colander.  Or you can just pick the spinach up out of the sink if you don’t have too much.

Drain all of the water out of the sink, rinse the dirt out of the bottom of the sink and refill with fresh water.

Repeat this process 3 times.

Try Wilted Spinach as a side with scrambled eggs and sliced tomatoes.

Place a skillet on low heat with 1 T of  EVOO.  Crush a clove or 2 of garlic and saute for a minute or two.  Pile on the spinach, it will shrink down a lot. It is great if the spinach is damp after washing because that will create a little steam. With a pair of tongs, rub the spinach around the bottom of the pan a few times and then put on the lid.  It will cook down quickly so check it every  few minutes. Once the spinach has wilted, I transfer it to a bowl and cover it with a plate to keep it warm.  I then rinse and wipe out the same skillet and reuse it for my scrambled eggs.  I don’t love to wash dishes nearly as much as I love to wash my spinach!

I’ve missed you guys and I’ve missed blogging, yay me, I’m back! -Andrea

Leave a Reply

