Fun with Roasted Veggies

First off, I apologize for my post yesterday.  I didn’t realize until this morning that the link to the slim down article wasn’t exactly right.  Just fixed it if you are interested in reading it.

I know you must be sick of my roasted veggies, but they are truly my favorite spring dinner.  So easy to make and the roasting brings out the natural sweetness of the vegetables.  The kids don’t love them like I do but this week when I added cilantro lime brown basmati rice and seaweed they enjoyed making roasted veggie “sushi rolls” and ended up eating more veggies than usual.   You can buy large sheets of seaweed called “laver” at any Asian market or try the Trader Joe’s Roasted Seaweed Snack.  I love the type from the Asian market because you can tear them into any size you’d like.

Check out the olive oil section at your favorite market and you will find lots of new flavors.  I have been using an Herb de Provence flavored olive oil to roast my veggies and it’s delicious.  Add a little sea salt and pepper and you are done!   For the rice, prepare as you normally would and as soon as it is done add 2 T of chopped fresh cilantro, the juice of a lime, and a drizzle of olive oil.  Let the rice cool a bit before serving.  My kids like to put a spoonful of rice on the seaweed and then fold it in half and eat it with their hands.  My friend and neighbor, Sue, is from Korea and she introduced us to this yummy treat.  She says that in Korea this is what all the kids eat…sort of like our Mac-n-Cheese!  ( Mae loves to bring this combo to school in her lunchbox.)  Adding the veggies is something Charlie came up with on his own at dinner and it was a hit.  Any way to get more green in my kids makes me happy!

Peace and Greens,

Melissa

Leave a Reply

