Comforting and Clean Butternut and Beets

So glad to be back!  My computer crashed and has been in the shop for a few days.. I’ve missed you all!  I hope everyone survived the Superbowl without going too overboard!   I did take a “clean” break and made veggie chili.  We had friends over to watch the game and indulged in the chili, a few dips, guacamole, tortilla chips, and brownies for dessert.  Some fare was clean , some was not.  I enjoyed it all immensely but was glad to wake up Monday morning, and make a delicious green smoothie.  YUM!

I have discovered a great combination over salad greens that provides a warm, comforting, yet clean, lunch.  I LOVE butternut squash but hate having to cut multiple butternuts into small pieces.  So, in a hurry at the market the other day,  I indulged in the pre-cut variety. This particular container had the pieces cut really small, about a half- inch square. I must admit, it sure was easy, and hey, my time is worth something, right?  I lined a cookie sheet with foil sprayed with olive oil, tossed on the squash, drizzled with olive oil, sprinkled with sea salt, and baked at 350 degrees for about 3o minutes. Tender, sweet, delicious, and super fast!

I mixed the squash with some roasted beets cut in cubes and then placed them both over a large bowl of baby greens. I dressed them with olive oil and a tangerine balsamic vinegar, sea salt, and pepper.  It was awesome. So good for me and my body..it just made me smile.  And, yes, it was comforting!

Check out the vinegars available at your local Whole Foods or other healthy market. There are so many flavors  available now.  The more flavor you can get from a vinegar, the less oil you need for big, bold flavor on your salads and other veggie dishes.

Officially wrapping up the clean tomorrow so check back later this week for some observations!   Would love to hear from any of you who have followed the Clean with us!

Peace and greens  -melissa

One thought on “Comforting and Clean Butternut and Beets

Leave a Reply

