Getting Focused So I Can Get Focused

I just need a “quick fix instant focus treatment” so I can work on getting focused with the “Clean”.  Things have been a little more than crazy at my house between wrapping up the holiday season,   a couple of birthdays, 2 of my  kids are tracked out for the month and one back to school and a crazy new transition/implementation at work (which I do from home).  I wish someone could come and zap my brain so I can get a little more tuned in on my clean “plan” so I don’t feel so unorganized. I went to the grocery store and bought a bunch of clean food without first putting together my menu for the week.  I was really excited to get started but without a plan I just have a fridge and pantry full of healthy food (which isn’t a bad thing!)

Cleaning is a little different this year than the prior 3 because not only are my husband and I doing the “Clean” but my 12-year-old son is as well.  I have changed it a little bit for him because of his age.  So, he gets a smoothie with a “clean” breakfast while I pack him a “clean” lunch to take to school and then he has a “clean” dinner.  He is basically doing the elimination diet and adding more smoothies for 3 weeks.

My husband and I both work from home so when we are on the clean I will cook lunch for the both of us and make enough so that the kids can have it for dinner that same night.  Then I freshen the meal up with a veggie, some pasta or salad because who wants to cook 2 big meals everyday?  It also works in reverse, last night I made Beans and Greens for dinner so my husband and I will have that for lunch today.  Like I said, I need to get a little more tuned in but I actually feel better already after writing this post.  I do have a lot going on right now and all things considered I am doing O.K and it is only day 3.  This is what I have had so far:

DAY ONE:

CARROT, APPLE, SPINACH SMOOTHIE

ARUGULA SALAD WITH AVOCADO, KALAMATA OLIVES, RED ONION, EVOO, LEMON JUICE, SEA SALT AND LOTS OF PEPPER

CARROTS AND HUMMUS

HAND FULL OF ALMOND, SUNFLOWER SEEDS AND PUMPKIN SEEDS

GREEN SMOOTHIE

LOTS OF WATER, DECAF. GREEN TEA, YARBA MATE CHIA TEA

DAY TWO:

VERY BERRY SMOOTHIE

PUMPKINS SEEDS

WHOLE FOODS SALAD BAR ( I TRIED EVERYTHING ON IT THAT WAS CLEAN)

BEANS AND GREENS (I ATE A SOLID DINNER LAST NIGHT.  GIRLS HAD SOCCER, HOME LATE, QUICK DINNER)

LEMON WATER, MANGO COCONUT WATER, DECAF. GREEN TEA, SODA WATER WITH A SPLASH OF BLUEBERRY POMEGRANATE JUICE

The following recipes can be found on this site:

Beans and Green- soup

Very Berry Smoothie – smoothie

Arugula Salad – you guessed it!

DAY THREE:

GREEN SMOOTHIE

Currently in my fridge/pantry: Organic Skinless Boneless Chicken Breasts, Portobello Mushroom Caps, Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, Butternut Squash, Apples, Spinach, Quinoa, Brown Rice, Vegetable & Chicken Stock

I will keep you posted on what becomes of it as I play “Clean Iron Chef” for the next couple days. Next week I will be armed with a grocery list AND a menu.

KEEP IT REAL! – ANDREA

Leave a Reply

