Overnight oats

I LOVE warm steel cut oats on a cold morning but I hate how long they take to cook. Overnight oats is a great solution!  There are so many variations to making these oats, so experiment and see what you come up with. I never  realized until I read it somewhere last winter that oats don’t even need to be cooked.  Just a good soaking in any liquid you prefer (ha, that sounds funny, no, I don’t mean bourbon!!) will give oats that yummy, chewy texture that is so satisfying in the morning. I love how they “stick with me” for  hours.  I love how they will help my kids make it to lunch without thinking about being hungry.

Why oats are so beneficial to our diets…

Oats are full of slow-release energy, meaning they do not spike your blood sugar for a quick energy high and then plummet to a low making you feel tired and hungry. They are high in fiber and help keep cholesterol low. They have calcium, iron, vitamin B5, and magnesium, to name just a few. Oats also have one of the higher protein contents among the grains. SOOO many good reasons to eat your oats!

So here is one quick and easy method for overnight oats that does not involve a slow-cooker and a huge sticky pot to clean in the morning…yes, been there done that, too many times.

Place 1/4 to 1/2 c steel-cuts oats in a glass jar with a lid ( I use the pint-size mason jars).  Heat equal amount of water in a tea kettle or microwave until boiling or close to it.  Pour over oats, place lid on jar. Leave overnight on counter or refrigerator.  Tough, eh?

The next morning you will have perfectly chewy and delicious oats ready for your favorite fixins’.  If you like your oats more runny you can add a bit more water the night before. I like to add almond milk and almond butter, flax seeds, cinnamon, nuts, currants, and fresh berries when in season.  I use honey or agave to sweeten it up a bit.  You can also add chia seeds, jam, dried fruit..the list is endless. With the lid off, put the jar in the microwave for a minute or two and you are good to go…right out the door with your oats in hand if need be!  This is all just a starting point!  You can make several servings in individual jars all on one night, place in the fridge, and have oats for the whole family for the next few mornings. If you have a middle or high-schooler taking off at the crack of dawn, this is a welcome breakfast waiting for them.  Old-fashioned rolled oats don’t need the long overnight soak so I put those in the jar when I get home from a work-out, pour almond milk over the top, and leave in the fridge while I take a shower and get dressed.  They are ready to eat by the time I’m finished getting ready, a different texture but still yummy.

Peace and oats  -Melissa

4 thoughts on “Overnight oats

  1. That is a great idea! No fuss. I like to cook up a big batch to refrigerate and heat as needed. I just throw what I want on the stove with a little almond milk if it the oats need liquid and boom – Breakfast is saved. Thanks for sharing this equally simple way to have oats in the morning.

  2. I love this idea. I have heard of doing it overnight in a crockpot, and I have done the large batch and re-heat. The thing I love about this is that you can do just what your going to eat, with no leftovers to forget are there in the back of the fridge (im disorganized). I also love that it is portable and that the cooking, storing and eating are in one jar that can go in the dishwasher!!! Even I can stay on top of that routine!

    1. Oooh, it just occurred to me that I can use my Keurig for the hot water and make the whole thing in 30 seconds! Thanks Melissa, this may permanently change my breakfast routine.

  3. Oh geesh, I recreated this from my memory and forgot to add “hot” water to the oats. Surprisingly, it turned out alright! A little on the chewy side but that is the way I like my grains. Made a double batch, refrigerated half and had it the next day. Worked out great even with the error. Liked the idea with the Keurig! Thanks girls for your great ideas.
    Carole

Leave a Reply

