Our Favorite Things Day 6

Super Natural Every Day, by Heidi Swanson. My newest, but absolute, hands down, favorite cookbook ever. I have prepared some of Heidi’s recipes before, stumbling across them on the internet or in magazines, but did not own either of her books. I knew I was going to love it the night I brought it home from the book store and decided to fix a cup a tea and leaf through it for a few minutes. I started reading it, word for word, and the next thing I knew it was 12:30 A.M. The house was quiet, even Izzy, the dog who never leaves my side, had called it a night. This is an amazing book. Beautiful to look at as well as to read.

So what is so great about this cookbook? Well, for starters, Heidi uses whatever looks fresh at her local farmers market or corner grocer and then adds ingredients she has on hand in the fridge or pantry. It is cooking in its most natural form, “a little of this and a little of that”. I also love that it is intended to be just a “jumping off point”. Start with her recipe and then make it your own, adding what looks best at your own local market, subtracting ingredients you’re not as fond of.

Most importantly, the food is wonderful! Real ingredients, natural foods, nothing too elaborate. I truly believe it is the very best way to feed ourselves and our families.

xo, Melissa

Leave a Reply

