An easy way to introduce new spices to your children

Introducing different spices to your children when they are young is a great way to help them develop a  broad palate as they age.  I found a Masala Simmer Sauce at Trader Joe’s the other day  that I thought I would try.  It turned out to be quite yummy!  It is a tomato base with ginger, garlic, coriander, cumin, turmeric, fenugreek leaves and a few other ingredients but NO ADDED SALT or SUGAR.  That is very hard to come by and is really what prompted me to try it.

I bought BARE chicken and chopped it into cubes and sautéed it in olive oil for about 2 minutes.  I added the jar of  Masala Simmer Sauce and a cup of water and let that simmer while I got my veggies together and started the rice.  Last night I was in a hurry so I used Uncle Ben’s boiling bag brown rice which takes 10 minutes to cook, frozen peas, and I intended to use frozen carrots as well, but forgot to buy them when I was at Trader Joe’s so I just chopped up some baby carrots ( that I did remember to buy ) and it worked just as well.  I sliced them thick and they ended up being the perfect size.  So, I put the carrots in first, let them simmer about 5 minutes and then added the frozen peas.  I let that simmer until the rice was ready and dinner was prepared and served in 20 minutes flat.

With all of the spices listed in the Masala Simmer Sauce I was surprised to find that it was very mild in flavor.  It smelled delicious while it was cooking but smelled stronger than it tasted.  Which is why I thought this is a great sauce to use as an introduction to new spices in a food.  My family got to smell the great spices while dinner was cooking but when they tasted it, it was a mild introduction. There were no left-overs!

Don’t be afraid to give your kids new things to try at least once a week.  It may take them a couple of times before they begin to develop a taste for something new, so just take it slow.  But as they grow older they will have a much broader range in which to find healthy and delicious options when it comes to good nutrition.  Spices do more than just flavor your food, they are also an excellent way to get extra vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.  Happy eating!

Keep it Real. Keep it Simple. Make it Matter. – Andrea

Leave a Reply

