Sauteed Kale..not quite as planned…

I was recently at the Union Square Greenmarket in NYC..wow!  Booth after booth of local farmers with their produce, cheese, flowers, nuts, meat, herbs, you name it, they had it.  One booth was offering samples of a 4-ingredient salad made with kale, apples, red onion, and apple juice.  I tried it, liked it, and then forgot about it when I got home. Until last week when I bought a big bag of kale and remembered the salad. I chopped the kale in strips, diced the apple and onion, and dressed it with a little apple cider and a T of apple cider vinegar.  Scooped out a little into a bowl to try..it was AWFUL!  The kale was bitter, the onion too strong, yuck!  I put the whole thing in the refrigerator and decided to have a smoothie for lunch. What a waste of ingredients!  The bowl kept taunting me every time I opened the fridge.  Trying to decide what to fix for dinner, I saw it again and decided to attempt to do something with it. I love sautéed kale so I decided to dump the whole bowl into a large skillet and stir-fry it.  It was delicious!  The apples were soft but not mushy, the onions cooked down into the apple cider and got that wonderful sweet onion flavor. The whole family liked it!

The funniest part of this story is that when I told Andrea what had happened she thought I was nuts. We were together in New York and tried the kale side-by-side, fresh out of the SKILLET!  Aren’t I too young to be experiencing these senior moments?

Peace and greens, Melissa

Leave a Reply

