Roasted Pumpkin Seeds..a nutritional powerhouse!

I had decided a few days ago that writing about pumpkin seeds on Halloween was just too predictable.  Then I decided to try a different method this year and we are all enjoying them so much that I decided I would go ahead and share.

Every year I gather up the seeds, rinse them of all the mushy pumpkin, pick off whatever is still stuck, and then lay them out to dry for a few hours before roasting them. Quite a process.  This year I decided to try a different method I had read about. No rinsing! Just separate, pull off the bigger pieces of mush, toss in a bowl with a little olive oil and your favorite spices, spread them out on a cookie sheet lined with foil, and bake at 300 degrees for 40 minutes.  The theory here is that the pumpkin goop adds nutrition and flavor. I believe they are on to something. So much easier! And the best part… that I had them out of the oven for us to munch on even before we were done carving the pumpkins!  I made half with cinnamon, sugar, and sea salt, which the boys loved. The other half I tossed with a spice blend for roasted veggies (The Gourmet Collection). Rich and I love this blend on everything and it didn’t disappoint on the pumpkin seeds. YUM!

In case you need any extra motivation to toast up those seeds, here is the down-low on the nutrition…

A good source of protein, zinc, vitamin K, iron, magnesium, and manganese..just to name a few.  They have anti-inflamatory benefits to help arthritis, phytosterols to help protect against cancer and high cholesterol, AND, L-tryptophan, a natural ant-depressant!  I could go on, but WOW, that is a lot of good from one little seed!

Have a safe Halloween! Melissa

Leave a Reply

