A better cup a joe…

After years of loving my drive-thru Dunkin Donuts Hazlenut coffee …2 creams, 1 sugar, thank you very much, I finally made a change.  I know both Andrea and I have referred to doing Dr. Alejandro Junger’s cleanse almost 2 years ago.  No cream or sugar allowed for 21 days.  No caffeine either for that matter.  Due to the cleanse I switched to unsweetened vanilla almond milk and agave syrup in my decaf coffee and now it is my morning drink of choice. I really love it and it is so much better for you.  Agave syrup has been used for centuries (starting with the Aztecs!) for its medicinal purposes but its glycemic index is really what all the buzz is about.  The carbohydrate in agave nectar has a low glycemic index, which provides sweetness without the unpleasant “sugar rush” and unhealthful blood sugar spike caused by many other sugars.  And with the low calorie, natural sweetness from the vanilla almond milk, they are an awesome combination.  I admit it may take a few mornings to get used to it but I urge you to try it for one week…you will make the switch too!

Trader Joes has the best price I’ve found for agave syrup, find it near the sugar.  Keep an eye out for it at your local TJMaxx as well. They often have the Madhava brand at a great discount.  I’ve found it there in hazlenut and maple flavor as well.  I switched my kids from maple syrup to maple agave syrup on their pancakes and they don’t even know it.  Much better than the fake corn syrup variety and cheaper than pure maple syrup!

Peace and greens, Melissa

One thought on “A better cup a joe…

Leave a Reply

