Beans and Greens

Two years ago I read the book Clean by Dr. Alejandro Junger, M.D.  After reading the book I decided to try clean eating for myself.  It was a little difficult at first but then I loved it and now I do  the “Clean” for 3 weeks once a year.  Clean eating really leads to discovering healthy clean cooking and that is when I started making Beans and Greens.  When I first made it the kids were a little less that excited but then it slowly became a bi-weekly staple for dinner and now they love it.  Well, 2 out of my 3 kids love it and there other one eats it.  So, as the weather is cooling off it is time to bring soup back to the table.  Welcome back Beans and Greens.

Kale, Cannellini Beans, Chicken or Vegetable Broth, Onion, Garlic and a pinch of salt.

In a pot, heat a bit of olive oil

Saute the chopped garlic and onion until tender

Add the washed chopped kale (remove the leafy part of the kale from it’s firm stem by pulling the leaves away)

Once the kale has cooked down a bit, it will reduce in volume and become even greener that when you started

Add the can of drained and rinsed cannellini beans and broth, or stock

Let all of the ingredients hang out together and get to know each other for about 20 minutes

Salt to taste AND It is especially good if you sprinkle your beans and greens with parmesan cheese! I like to add hot pepper flakes to mine too.

Health and Happiness-Andrea

4 thoughts on “Beans and Greens

  1. I added ground chicken….it was fantastic!! Made it Sunday, my kids love it, and they actually like the stems….fight for them really.

  2. I made this the other night for dinner and it was really good, quick and easy. I used ground turkey, for the sake of my husband and growing teenage boy. The thing I like most about it (other than how fast it comes together) is that it is both hearty and light at the same time. I know that sounds like a paradox. But it isn’t heavy, yet it sticks with you and is nutrition packed. My three kids all ate it. My six year old wasn’t too sure about the kale, but she still ate a good part of it. I also like it because you can probably make different substitutions depending on what you have on hand. Different greens (like spinach or watercress) different protein (like tofu, chicken, turkey) different types of beans (endless). Good to have on the repertoire!

Leave a Reply

