Fall Favorite…Butternut Squash Soup

My favorite soup…every year around this time I anxiously await a cooler day so that I can make my favorite, super healthy,  butternut squash soup. I’m a little addicted, I think I had 4 bowls yesterday! Anyway, thought I’d share the recipe.
Preheat oven to 400 degrees, cut 2 squash in half lengthwise and place cut side down on oiled baking sheet for about an hour or until soft. Let cool and scoop out the pulp,… place in bowl. Saute 2 large minced leeks (white part only) and 4t grated fresh ginger in 2T olive oil for about 5 minutes on low heat. Stir in 4 cups vegetable broth and the squash. Bring to a simmer, breaking up the squash, for about 20 minutes. Puree with a hand blender while in pot or remove from pot and puree in blender and return to pot. Add 2 more cups of broth and salt to taste. Garnish with a T greek yogurt and a Dr. Kracker Pumpkin Flatbread. Delish…happiness in a bowl:)
Leave a Reply

